Why I believe in God

I apologize…It’s been a long while since I’ve posted. I’m ashamed to confess that I haven’t made as much time for this blog as I should.

I’ve been coming across a lot of anti-religious dialog and articles online lately, and it makes me wonder why people are so opposed to the idea of religion…or even a diety, regardless of an association with an organized religion.

I believe in God for the sake of hope. I like the idea of having the hope that my life is not just one of a random existence. I like believing that there’s more purpose to my existence. I could be wrong, but I plan to live a life full of hope regardless. If I die and I’m wrong, then so be it. If we assume there is no Heaven, then you can’t have regrets once you’re dead.

I don’t denounce scientific discovery, and I don’t believe it’s my duty to save other people’s souls.  I believe in a God who forgives and who doesn’t look down on us derisively; a God who gives us free will, but controls all other aspects of the world harmoniously (the proverbial balancing of the universe, so to speak). A God whose commandments are designed to improve our quality of life and promote peaceful coexistence.

I love living with the hope that my purpose in life goes beyond merely surviving. I love believing that when people around me pass away, they’re not just dead, but in the hands of God. I love the hope that comes with my faith.

So, regardless of what evidence people may bring forth disputing the existence of God or the Messiah, my hope won’t go anywhere.

Leave a Reply

